Cipcommunity

My Life Story

My Life Story

My Life Story1 My Life Story (Past, Present, & Future My Life Story2 What was your family like? A. I grew up in a middle class home. B. I have two siblings, a brother and a sister. Only my sister lived with me. C. Both of my parents worked D. My parents were constantly arguing. What things do you remember about your childhood? A. I remember both of my parents working a lot. B. my sister was always babysitting me C. I remember my mom not always being happy because of all the fighting. D. My parents were very strict What are some of your favorite memories? A. I loved going to the beach every year with my family, we seemed so happy.

B. As I got older I enjoyed spending a lot of time hanging out with my friends. What jobs have you had? A. I worked for a data entry company, where you weren’t really able to talk to anyone. B. then when I got married I got a job in NY, as a telephone tech support professional. What are your personal, professional, and academic goals? A. A personal goal would be for me to stop being so co-dependent on my husband, and to make sure I graduate college. B. My professional and academic goals are kind of the same. In order for me to get a job I’m going to need to graduate college so I can get the reliable career that I want.

C. my professional goal is to be a medical secretary or a nurse. D. I want to set the good example for my children one day, which my parents didn’t set for me. 3 My Life Story I’m a 23 year old Army wife living in Bad Windsheim, Germany. Growing up I never thought I would be living the lifestyle that I am now. My past was definitely a little rocky, but I don’t think I would be who I am today without those past experiences. I would like to tell you a little about myself, starting with my past, going into my present life, and then tell you a little bit about what I envision my future to look like.

Just to give you a little insight on my parents, my mom and dad were married at the age of 17, due to the fact that my mother was pregnant with my brother. Neither of their families believed in having children out of wedlock. My parents are two completely opposite people. My father comes from a very poor family of 5 children. I guess you could say the way he was raised taught him how to work and to save his money. My mother comes from an upper middle class family where money wasn’t always an issue. So the way she was raised didn’t really teach her a good work ethic.

Growing up, I came from a middle class family. I have two siblings, a brother and a sister. My sister has always been a part of my life (she is the middle child), we grew up together in the same house. My brother on the other hand (he is the oldest) did not live in the house with us. When he was 16, he moved in with my grandmother. The reason he moved out was because he and my father would fight all the time. They never saw eye to eye on things, at least this is what my mother told me. I didn’t even know I had a brother until I was 5 or 6 years old.

I can remember when I was little that both of my parents worked a lot. My sister was always babysitting me. My parents didn’t have the time or money to do the things that other families would go out and do such as going to amusement parks or hikes. Their main concern was taking care of their family. I remember a lot of yelling in my house, constant arguing going on. I think both of my parents were just stressed with all the bills they had, taking care of two children, and then still finding time for themselves. I don’t ever really remember my parents taking time for themselves.

Somewhere along the way my father picked up drinking and he drank every day after he came home from work. My mother never seemed happy because all my father and her would do is fight and she couldn’t stand the drinking. I think the alcohol for my father was his escape from the chaos. Some of the fun times I can remember with my family, are the times we would go to the beach together. I would look forward to going every summer. Everyone just seemed so happy. I loved walking on the board walk with everyone and playing in the sand. Those are some of my favorite childhood memories.

I was an honor roll student from elementary to middle school. In elementary school I even won some awards for being such a good student. I think around the time you’re in middle school is where some things in your life start to make sense; I was starting to realize how busy my parents actually were. I started recognizing that all of the arguing in the household couldn’t have been normal. I never saw any of the behaviors of my parents as bad because it’s what I was raised with its all I knew. Half way through middle school, I think 7th grade is when it affected me the most.

I started realizing that my family was too busy with work and arguing to make sure I was doing my absolute best in school. I read in the text that, “fighting parents create distress in the home, which can influence how well children perform in school. ” They never checked to see if I was doing homework or studying. So I just didn’t bother. In result of not doing my work, I failed that grade. Failing 7th grade was a difficult time for me. I felt like since I failed then I won’t be able to succeed in anything. I felt everyone saw me as a failure.

Thankfully I made a really great group of friends in my second year of 7th grade. The new friends that I made were very academically involved. Their parents taught them that school is everything, and that it really can take you someplace in life if you put your mind to it. In high school, I couldn’t wait until I turned 16, so I could get a job. I worked at a business called Direct mail processors. I worked in data entry for four years, so pretty much my entire way through high school I worked there. It was nice making my own money and being out of my chaotic house.

Also when I turned 16, that’s when my parents became VERY strict with me. They watched carefully who I hung out with, what I spent my money on, and would rarely ever let me go out. So it was pretty much just work and school for me. During my senior year of high school my father lost his job of 15 years. He was always a drinker but once he lost his job that’s when the drinking really increased. It wasn’t until I was older that I saw that my dad was the meanest when he drank. I think that’s what made my mom so unhappy. He would say things to belittle her and make her feel bad about herself.

But, during my senior year like I said my father lost his job and the drinking increased. One day I got a phone call from my sister asking me where I was and told me that I needed to get to the hospital quick! She had informed me that my dad had taken a pretty bad fall in our garage and broke his ankle. When I got to the hospital my mom told me he had been drinking and blacked out and fell. He had to stay in the hospital for three or four weeks while the ankle tried to heal. And during that time frame since he couldn’t drink his body was starting to go through severe with-drawls from the alcohol. I watched my father go through hell.

His heart even stopped beating twice but the doctors and nurses were able to save him. This was the time I decided what I want to be when I grow up. A nurse. Without them I don’t believe I would have a father today. When I graduated high school I went to work full time in 2006. 2006 is also when I met my husband Caleb. We were both 18. He and I were together for about 7 months and we then decided to get married. We decided to get married at such a young age because he was joining the Army. My husband and I have been married for four years now. We recently celebrated our fourth wedding anniversary on April 13th.

Our marriage was a little rocky at the beginning because when I said I would marry him, I really didn’t know everything I was signing up for; I was just a kid. We both were. I have to admit I fell into a little depression when we got married, because we had to move where the Army sent us, upstate NY. I was away from all my friends and all my family for the first time. It was a little scary for me. It took me 9 months to get myself out into the community and find a job. I started working at a Business called Stream. I was a Telephone support professional for the TomTom GPS Company.

I enjoyed working there because it involved working with other people and helping them. As I read in the text I discovered that I would be classified as a social person according to John Holland. The text reads a social person “Enjoys solving social problems and interacting with others in a cooperative manner. Jobs involving machines, animals, or isolated work do not appeal. ” I quit working with Stream because my husband had to deploy to Iraq, and I moved back home. While he was in Iraq, he received orders stationing him in Germany once his deployment was finished. I decided to go with him.

I love Germany! There are so many beautiful things to see here! Moving to Germany makes me think about what I read in the text about nature versus nature. “The environments that we live in have a major impact on our development. ” The past 4 years of my marriage my husband has been on me about going back to school. Like I stated earlier my parents were never really involved with my education so they never really talked to me about college. But with my husband, his family always told him how much better his life could be if he furthered his education. They couldn’t express it to him enough.

So just recently I’ve finally enrolled myself back into school, and I feel fantastic about it! I don’t know what I would do without my husband he has so much love and faith in me. He’s such a great supporter. Now that I’m back in school, I can finally see a future for myself. In the future I see me being less co-dependent on my husband, because I’ll have my own job and I’ll feel like I’m contributing to our lives. Also in the future I would like to see myself being either a medical secretary or a registered nurse. I’m not exactly sure what kind of nurse I want to be yet I haven’t done very much research in that yet.

I’ve mostly done research about being a medical secretary. It’s crucial for me to graduate college and achieve the goals I’ve set for myself because, In the future I want to be able to give my children what I didn’t have growing up. I want them to see that school is one of the most important things that they could ever do with their lives. Another thing that is important to show my children is that their family doesn’t need to be the way my family was. When I have children, they are going to know that my husband and I love them very much and we’re going to be there to support all of their decisions.

My Life Story References -Adult Development and Life Assessment, Gary A. Witt & Ronald A. Mossler, 2010 Retrieved from https://content. ashford. edu/books/AUPSY202. 10. 2/sections/sec2. 8? search=mesosystem – Adult Development and Life Assessment, Gary A. Witt & Ronald A. Mossler, 2010 Retrieved from https://content. ashford. edu/books/AUPSY202. 10. 2/sections/sec2. 11? search=hereditary%20influences – Adult Development and Life Assessment, Gary A. Witt & Ronald A. Mossler, 2010 Retrieved from https://content. ashford. edu/books/AUPSY202. 10. 2/sections/sec2. 9? search=table%202. 1 –